HISTORY OF ENGINE COMPANY 2
In september of 1954, a group of people became concerned with the lack
of fire protection in the eastern half of the Town of Hyde Park. This group approached the Town Board and created the Roosevelt
Fire District; an area cut-out around the existing fire districts that lays approximately 3 miles wide and 9 miles long.
The oringinal Board of Fire Commissioners decided that three fire stations
were to be constructed. Company #1 was constructed near Cardinal and Crum Elbow Roads and Company #3 was constructed on Roosevelt
The Rymph Volunteer Fire Company was the organization created as Fire Station
#2. Residents first organized at the Chapel Corners Grange Hall as the fire station was being constructed and fire apparatus
was being purchased. the early meetings in the new fire station were in the engine bay (the only room in the station) on dirt
floors and collections were needed to be taken to pay the phone bill.
The original fire station was 12' wide and 30' long (still seen today as
the peaked roof section of the old fire station). the land that it sat on was kindly donated by the marshall rymph family.
The family has allowed for the use of the land without pay for the past 45 years. The building was built mainly by members
and residents of the area; with very little hired labor constructed the building.
Station #2 originally had a 1934 Ford Model B fire engine. The company
also purchased a used Navy Pumper/Tanker and gave it to the fire district to further improve fire protection in the area.
The two pieces were stored in the solo engine bay for several years. The two pieces was sold and replaced by an International
Harvester pumper truck.
In the 1960's, the building underwent two additions. The first was the
meeting room. This provided the fire company a place to hold their events (meetings, dinners, etc.) as well as a place for
training and fundrasising. The second addition added the 20' by 50' bay on the side of the building to house the larger fire
apparatus. Again the membership donated countless hours and talent to construct the additions, with only materials and minimal
labor being purchased by the district.
With increase of homes and the construction of townhouses in the 1970's,
A second engine was again added to the fleet at station #2. In 1978, Engine 5 arrived; a 1978 Ford/Young 1000 gallon per minute
pumper that also carried 1000 gallons of water.
Another organization that worked in support of the fire company was the
Ladies Auxiliary. They formed in 01966 and helped in fundraising as well as support at emergency scenes with coffee and refreshments.
They disbanded in the early 1990's. The Ladies Auxiliary donated the display board in front of the station.
With the growing size of modern fire apparatus, a decision was made in
1997 to look towards a construction of a new station #2. Earlier that year, we moved into our new home that provides facilities
designed for years to come. The size of the fire station leaves us the room to expand our services to the fire district.
Today, station #2 is out fitted with two class "A" pumpers engine 5 (63-15)
and engine 2 (63-12), a brush/grass fire vehicle (63-61) and a fire prevention vehicle (63-98). Engine 5 is also outfitted
with an emergency generator and Hydraulic Rescue Tools to offset the response time of the district's Heavy Rescue vehicle